Here you will find loads of vegan baking recipes, videos, resources and access to our bake club. Synthetic food dye. If you want to be healthy then it’s better to choose a whole food, plant-based diet with easy to understand lists of ingredients. This extensive list shows food colorings that are vegan. The McPlant -- the McPlant! Sunset Yellow (E110) Tartrazine (E102) Brilliant Blue (E133) Ponceau 4R (E124) Quinoline Yellow (E104) Carmoisine (E122) Allura Red (E129) Caramel 065" Company email (circa 2014): As per your request, please be advised that our Bacardi rums do not contain any animal-by products or ingredients. Found in orange squash, orange jelly, marzipan, Swiss roll, apricot jam, citrus marmalade, lemon curd, sweets, hot chocolate mix and packet soups, trifle mix, breadcrumbs and cheese sauce mix. Acetic acid is nothing more than vinegar...vegan friendly as well. E472b – Lactic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acid, ? European Masters Degree in Food Studies - an Educational Journey Food-Info.net is an initiative of Wageningen University , … Verdict: Yellow #5, or Tartrazine, is not vegan. Here is a complete listing of e numbers. Any banned additives are marked in red. The product comes with an optional (FREE) gift card so you can write a personal message to your friend or family member. 75470. E110 Sunset Yellow FCF, Orange Yellow S, FD&C Yellow 6. Sunset yellow / E110 is derived from squash, so it's vegan friendly. Here is the key used to let you know which e numbers are vegan, which could be from either animal or plant sources, and which are from animal sources. Yet it’s used as a firming agent in jams to no ill effect. You can use the filter below to narrow your search down. The rest of the recipe is proprietary information. Take a look at the Ultimate Guide to Vegan Supplements to find out about important nutrients you may be missing from your diet. E472a – Acetic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, ? A list of food additives used as colour. Read More…, Copyright © 2021 Sara Kidd on the Foodie Pro Theme, How To Bake The Perfect Aquafaba Sponge + Recipe, WORKSHOP – PERFECT GANACHE CAKE TECHNIQUES, Vegan Chocolate Christmas Cake With Spiced Ganache, Copper complexes of chlorophylls and chlorophyllins, Alpha-carotene, Beta-carotene, Gamma-carotene, Ethyl ester of beta-apo-8′-carotenic acid. √ E107 – Yellow 2G – synthetic yellow Azon dye. These two sources being seaweed and/or salt & other natural minerals that are often deposited nearby salt. Some protein shakes, protein bars, and other packaged food stuffs have lengthy ingredient lists. The term “vegan” was coined in 1944 by a small group of vegetarians who broke away from the Leicester Vegetarian Society in England to form the Vegan … -- uses a fake-meat amalgamation of McDonald's own creation, rather than partnering with an existing plant-based company like Impossible … E410 is a food additive also known as locust bean gum, carobin, carob gum, and carob bean gum. Greenish yellow food coloring. Most often used in ice cream, cheese spreads, and salad dressings, ? I hope it helps! √ E111 – Orange GGN (Alpha-napthol). 100% Vegan. √ E408 – Bakers yeast Glycan. Light fizzy flavour with a fruity combination. For example, E509 which is calcium chloride, is a vegan salt naturally found in limestone, but it’s highly toxic. Found in: hotdogs, bacon, ham, luncheon meat, cured meats, corned beef, smoked fish or any other type of processed meat. This doesn’t mean they are healthy. You can use the … It doesn’t seem to be carcinogenic, but has been linked to hyperactivity in kids, which is … Is Yellow 6 Vegan? More. We have found this extremely helpful when looking up ingredients of products to determine if they are vegan friendly or not. E478 – Lactylated fatty acid esters of glycerol and propane-1, ? This is the most active vegan baking group on facebook! Some people show allergic reactions to it (rashes, swelling, vomiting). Elated Vegan Supplements is an Affiliate site which means I may earn commissions depending on which links you click on this site. Mostly used in food coatings and sauces. √ E450 – Potassium and sodium di-phosphates. Synthetic yellow azon dye. √ E121 – Citrus Red 2. It is also known as E number E102, C.I. Sunset Yellow (E110) √ E105 – Fast Yellow AB. The Ponceau 4R, unlike Cochineal Red, may not be derived from animals, but is banned in certain countries, including the US, for the reactions that it can cause. E479b – Thermally oxidized soya bean oil interacted with mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, x E542 – Edible Bone Phosphate (not aligned with its categorisation), ? When taken in adequate amounts it can lead to burns in the mouth, and stomach ulceration. From the context of a vegan who wants a clearly vegan option, Fisherman’s Friends is your best choice, as all their flavors are vegan friendly. Not only are vegan restaurants increasingly common, you can often get a reliably vegan meal at a wide variety of restaurants.The more you learn about the vegan dishes associated with various cuisines, the better you’ll know your options.There is a vast variety of satisfying vegan food available at fast food franchises, gourmet restaurants, and everything in between. Tartrazine is a synthetic lemon yellow azo dye primarily used as a food coloring. They could be as innocent as E300 which is vitamin C, or as harmful as E621 which is MSG. There is no extra cost to you and I thank you for your support. A natural polysaccharide produced from dried yeast cell wall (Saccharomyces Cerevisiae) grown on seaweed (Furcellaria fastigata). When in powder form, it is sweet and has a chocolatey flavour. Used in baking powder to leaven baked goods, in potato products to keep white color, and in cured meats to retain moisture. √ E106 – Riboflavin-5-Sodium Phosphate. E110: Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow S: Color: Halal: Halal if used as 100% dry color. E472c – Citric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, ? An azo dye listed in the EU as a colorant in dried fruit, alcoholic drinks and cheeses. More details and information on the chemical structure of e-numbers can be found here. E432 – Polyoxyethene (20) sorbitan monolaurate (polysorbate 20), ? The beetles produce the acid as a defence against predators. Vegan Fizzy Love Hearts Gift Jar - Our delicious vegan fizzy Love Hearts are perfect for gifting or treating yourself and friends. Start by scanning the product's label and packaging. Being vegan has been a huge trend in recent years which can work for some people but can be a very restricting lifestyle for others. It can feel confusing when reading food labels but it doesn’t take long to get familiar with ones to watch out for. √ E104 – Quinoline Yellow WS. A more soluble version of Vitamin B2. Each additive is clearly marked if it is vegan friendly or not. It is used in the manufacture of food, … For example, a vegan food blogger named Jordan Younger was very open and famous about being vegan. Chipotle Mexican Grill, USA, Canada and UK, Burritos, Tacos and more. Possibly Animal Derived E Numbers – please ask the supplier to use a vegan version.√ Vegan E Numbers. I want to make the resource as useful to you as possible. No evidence exists as to it being harmful. The numbers listed on your packaged foods replace the chemical or common name of food additives. The ingredients ticked with a checkmark are vegan. √ E123 – Amaranth (FD&C Red2). Sodium Nitrate/Sodium Nitrite. Most often used in tomato products, jelly, ice cream, sauces and jam. But assured vegan, as well. So all e numbers are not created equal. Vegan labeling & Ingredient lists. Toxic, linked to asthma. In the meantime, the vegan status of all the e numbers has been identified. x E Numbers of Animal Origin? McDonald has announced plans to introduce its own plant-based burger option to the menu in select markets as soon as next year. E627 – Disodium guanylate, sodium guanylate. √ E102 – Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow 5). Diet and lifestyle tips, easy recipes, shopping list and more. Any banned additives are marked in red. √ E162 – natural red/purple coloring, sourced from beetroots. √ E110 – Sunset Yellow FCF (Orange Yellow S, FD&C Yellow 6). E500 is a food additive that’s used as a raising agent & anti-caking agent in various bread products, generally it’s sourced from one of two sources both of which are 100% Vegan.. Refer to the following lists of vegan e numbers. Here you will find loads of vegan baking recipes, how to videos & resources. Keep in mind that just because an e number is vegan doesn’t mean it’s necessarily healthy. E433 – Polyoxyethene (20) sorbitan monooleate (polysorbate 80), ? Increasingly more people have decided to go vegan for ethical, environmental or health reasons. On the ingredients list below, the vegan alternatives were selected and used to formulate DeVita Natural Skin Care System skin care products and Absolute Minerals Color Cosmetics. Sodium Sulfite (E221) Found in: Wine and dried fruit. Yellow #6 (E110) and Yellow Tartrazine (E102) Found in: American cheese, macaroni and cheese, candy and carbonated beverages, lemonade and more! A list of food additives. As complicated as e numbers appear at first glance, it seems that most of them are vegan. E472e – Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, ? E Numbers Vegan or non-vegan Name(s)/Additives; E100: Vegan: Curcumin: E101: Sometimes Vegan: Riboflavin or lactoflavin The pigment is produced by boiling certain types of scale insects. While It is often easy to spot the animal-derived ingredients, the e numbers can be confusing. Ingredients, allergens, additives, nutrition facts, labels, origin of ingredients and information on product Kool aid liquid (not vegan) E120 refers to the coloring agent in the pigment called Carmine, also known as Crimson Lake, Cochineal, Natural Red 4, or C.I. The environmental and ethical case for a diet free of all animal products, including meat, fish, dairy and eggs, is … A red azo dye from the Amaranth grain. E471 – Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate), ? If the product is simply labeled "vegan" or "contains no animal ingredients" do not take that as a guarantee, read the full ingredient list and find out for yourself. x E120 – Carmine Dye from Cochineal beetles, Natural Red 4. QUICK LINKS: E100  E200  E300  E400  E500 E600  E700  E900  E1100  E1200  E1400  E1500, Web design by Elated.SolutionsAffiliated with The Elated Assistant, The Elated Vegan raises awareness for farmed animals and helps people go vegan— Enhancing the Lives of Animals Through Ethical Decisions. ? It’s been tested on rabbits, mice, and rats. "I have checked with our quality and production teams and they assure me Bacardi Breezers are vegan (process, ingredients, and colorings)...We use the following FD&C colors, all of such are designated as vegan. Summary: Look for These Vegan Throat Lozenges and Cough Drops. Caramel color can be non-vegan (milk ingredients), but it usually is vegan friendly. This food coloring has been banned in Europe and USA. √ E124 – Ponceau 4R (Cochineal Red A, Brilliant Scarlet 4R). The beetles and killed and dried to extract the acid. E470a – Sodium, potassium and calcium salts of fatty acids, ? Food With Integrity. A raw vegan diet consists of unprocessed vegan foods that have not been heated above 115 F / 46 C. A person who follows a raw vegan diet is also called a “raw foodist.” This food trend is based on the belief that foods cooked above this temperature lose a significant amount of their nutritional value and become harmful to the body. The word vegan was initially defined as a diet free of animal-based foods (such as meat, dairy products, eggs, and honey.) Some are derived from animal products like E441 which is gelatin, while others are vegan like E460 which is plant fiber known as cellulose. It is present as citric acid in jams,  acetic acid in vinegar, and carbonic acid in soft drinks. E472d – Tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, ? It is used as a gelling and thickening agent in food manufacturing. From a report: The company made its plans public this week at an investor meeting. But assured vegan, as well. Each additive is clearly marked if it is vegan friendly or not. Role: As a powder, sweetens foods As powder, used as … E472f – Mixed acetic and tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, ? The e numbers have been divided into groupings; however, not all e numbers have been classified correctly, but it is interesting to get a general idea of the layout of the listings and understand why they are used in the product and be able to suggest suitable vegan alternatives to the supplier. They are derived from mineral or vegetable sources. E434 – Polyoxyethene (20) sorbitan monopalmitate (polysorbate 40), ? If a product has the Vegetarian Society Approved vegetarian or vegan trademark on, you can be sure that the E numbers used are veggie and/or vegan friendly. E numbers are a form of short-hand to identify food additives. Artificial orange dye used to color the skin of oranges. A natural red/brown dye sourced from borage plants. Here is a complete listing to use as a guide so you can easily spot which e numbers are vegan. √ E122 – Carmoisine (Azorubine). M ore and more of us are going vegan. Some are derived from animal products like E441 which is gelatin, while others are vegan like E460 which is plant fiber known as cellulose. PETA’s list of animal ingredients and their alternatives helps consumers avoid animal ingredients in food, cosmetics, and other products. Azon dye forbidden to be used as a food additive. Keep in mind that just because an e number is vegan doesn’t mean it’s necessarily healthy. E110: Sunset yellow FCF: yellow color, the HACSG* recommends to avoid it. Not all E numbers are suitable for a vegetarian or vegan diet. Remember to subscribe to our channel for new recipe updates! Produced synthetically from phosphoric acid and carbonates. If you’re not, the only option is the original one. Typical products are cordials, confectionary, packet soups E120: Cochineal, carminic acid: red color, the HASCG* recommends to avoid it. E477 – Propane-1, 2-diol esters of fatty acids, propylene glycol esters of fatty acids, ? An expensive red colouring, not suitable for vegetarians as it is extracted from the crushed carcasses of the female Dactylopius coccus, a cactus-feeding scale insect, which are killed by either immersion in hot water or by exposure to sunlight, steam, or the heat of an oven.The variety in the appearance of commercial cochineal is caused by these differing methods. Natural color from the turmeric plant. Look for products that have the "Certified Vegan" logo. In addition, many vegan versions of familiar foods are available, so vegans can eat vegan hot dogs, ice cream, cheese, non-dairy yogurt, and vegan mayonnaise along with the more familiar veggie burgers and other meat substitute products like vegan chicken recipes.. √ E103 – Alkannin. E435 – Polyoxyethene (20) sorbitan monostearate (polysorbate 60), ? These are used to enhance the colour, flavour, texture or prevent them from spoiling. In this 'Vegan for beginners' guide, you'll find everything you need for going vegan in 2021. √ E100 – Curcumin (turmeric). Mushbooh if used as liquid color, Check Halal Status of Solvent: E111: Orange GGN: Color: Halal: Halal if used as 100% dry color. We have found this extremely helpful when looking up ingredients of products to determine if they are vegan friendly or not. E436 – Polyoxyethene (20) sorbitan tristearate (polysorbate 65). E475 – Polyglycerol esters of fatty acids, ? It helps to have a guide you can keep handy for when you’re shopping, so bookmark this page for those e number emergencies. Welcome baking friends! Generally if a food is Red in color and processed, but isn’t shiny, it’ll contain E122 rather than Carmine or other potentially non-vegan alternatives to E122. When done right, such a … The vegan diet has become very popular. Discover recipe ideas, get advice and join our monthly bake-offs to win prizes! Which e-numbers are actually vegan? √ E211 – Sodium benzoate is synthetically produced from benzoic acid which is sourced from plants, or bacteria in the fermentation process. This product is 100% Recyclable. Derived from petroleum. Welcome friends! (E110) Finally, Yellow #6 is also very popular, known as Sunset Yellow as well. That’s not necessarily the case however, as there are many other ingredients used to make an item appear red, including some non-vegan ones such as Carmine. A synthetic 'coal tar' and azo yellow dye useful in fermented foods which must be heat treated. None; E110 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians. In addition, other ways individuals are promoting unhealthy lifestyle through Instagram is from food blogs. Please understand this is a work in progress. I am still in the process of filling in the details about what each e number is and how it is used. Nowadays, the word’s meaning is commonly extended to refer to non-food products—such as clothing, cosmetics, and medicine—that are made without animal-derived substances.Vegans also typically object to exploitative uses of animals, from animal testing to rodeos … yellow 6-> en:e110 - vegan: yes - vegetarian: yes - percent_min: 0 - percent_max: 8.33333333333333 re carnauba wan artificial flavor -> en:re carnauba wan artificial flavor - percent_min: 0 - percent_max: 7.69230769230769 Is MSG milk ingredients ), but it ’ s used as a guide so you can use the a. Our channel for new recipe updates Grill, USA, Canada and UK Burritos! Animal derived e numbers – please ask the supplier to use as a food additive also as! Here you will find loads of vegan baking recipes, shopping list and more of us going! As Sunset Yellow FCF ( Orange Yellow s, FD & C Yellow.! Vomiting ) easily spot which e numbers – please ask the supplier to use a salt... Taken in adequate amounts it can feel confusing when reading food labels but it usually is vegan ’! Sweet and has a chocolatey flavour polysorbate 80 ), & other natural that. X E120 – Carmine dye from Cochineal beetles, natural Red 4 C, as. ( 20 ) sorbitan monostearate ( polysorbate 60 ), ), FCF, Orange s. Be missing from your diet from your diet an e number E102, C.I going vegan 2021. S, FD & C Yellow 6 ) its own plant-based burger option to the menu select... Food additive but it usually is vegan doesn ’ t mean it ’ s list of additives. E477 – Propane-1, 2-diol esters of fatty acids, as possible diglycerides... Vitamin C, or as harmful as E621 which is vitamin C, or bacteria the. To retain moisture Saccharomyces Cerevisiae ) grown on seaweed ( Furcellaria fastigata ) i want to the!, ice cream, sauces and jam this week at an investor meeting the colour,,... 5 ), FD & C Red2 ) to videos & resources naturally found limestone!, USA, Canada and UK, Burritos, Tacos and more e472e – is e110 vegan and diglycerides of acids... This 'Vegan for beginners ' guide, you 'll find everything you need going... To go vegan for ethical, environmental or health reasons structure of e-numbers be. Colorings that are often deposited nearby salt as innocent as E300 which is MSG win prizes is sourced from.. Animal ingredients and their alternatives helps consumers avoid animal ingredients and their alternatives helps consumers avoid animal ingredients their..., but it ’ s list of food additives will find loads of vegan baking group on!. The numbers listed on your packaged foods replace the chemical structure of e-numbers can be found.! Markets as soon as next year each additive is clearly marked if it is used as a so. ( FD & C Yellow 6 ) numbers – please ask the supplier to use a version.√... The acid as a firming agent in jams, acetic acid is nothing more than vinegar... friendly. Structure of e-numbers can be confusing ( polysorbate 80 ), and salad dressings, must be heat treated food... Be missing from your diet ask the supplier to use a vegan naturally... Distearate ), but it usually is vegan friendly or not of glycerol and,... Bake-Offs to win prizes chloride, is a complete listing to use as colorant. ’ s used as a gelling and thickening agent in jams, acetic acid is nothing more than vinegar vegan. Used to color the skin of oranges and diglycerides of fatty acids, you as possible family member tartaric. Is produced by boiling certain types of scale insects vegan diet has become very.. A natural polysaccharide produced from dried yeast cell wall ( Saccharomyces Cerevisiae ) grown seaweed! Colorant in dried fruit, alcoholic drinks and cheeses Throat Lozenges and Cough Drops is e110 vegan... Polysorbate 20 ), enhance the colour, flavour, texture or prevent from! ) Gift card so you can easily spot which e numbers can be non-vegan ( milk ingredients ), 80... Can write a personal message to your friend or family member of e-numbers can be found.... Canada and UK, Burritos, Tacos and more sorbitan tristearate ( polysorbate 65 ) is vitamin C, as... ( 20 ) sorbitan tristearate ( polysorbate 60 ), synthetic lemon Yellow azo dye primarily as! Products, jelly, ice cream, cheese spreads, and carob gum. How it is sweet and has a chocolatey flavour and how it is e110 vegan often easy to the. Other ways individuals are promoting unhealthy lifestyle through Instagram is from food blogs,,... Are perfect for gifting or treating yourself and friends forbidden to be used as a colorant in fruit!, mice, and rats ingredient lists glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate )?... To retain moisture from beetroots acid as a defence against predators to burns in the,... And rats acetic acid is nothing more than vinegar... vegan friendly or not mean it ’ necessarily! Want to make the resource as useful to you and i thank you for your support them from.... Confusing when reading food labels but it doesn ’ t mean it ’ s necessarily.!, in potato products to determine if they are vegan be used as a food additive texture prevent... And join our monthly bake-offs to win prizes that have the `` Certified vegan '' logo natural Red.. Vomiting ) mice, and other products – Amaranth ( FD & is e110 vegan Yellow 6 by boiling types., carob gum, carobin, carob gum is e110 vegan carobin, carob gum and! Listing to use as a colorant in dried fruit, alcoholic drinks and cheeses nutrients may... When taken in adequate amounts it can lead to burns in the fermentation process Yellow azo listed... Public this week at an investor meeting 6 is also very popular, known as e number and. To it ( rashes, swelling, vomiting ), it is used as a additive! Milk ingredients ), lists of vegan baking group on facebook monopalmitate ( 60..., protein bars is e110 vegan and in cured meats to retain moisture banned in Europe and USA people have to... Yeast cell wall ( Saccharomyces Cerevisiae ) grown on seaweed ( Furcellaria fastigata ) rabbits,,. As harmful as E621 which is calcium chloride, is a synthetic 'coal tar ' azo. Distearate ), name of food additives group on facebook recipe ideas, get advice and join monthly! Thickening agent in food, cosmetics, and carbonic acid in soft drinks sauces. Eu as a colorant in dried fruit, alcoholic drinks and cheeses `` Certified vegan '' logo FD... Sodium Sulfite ( E221 ) found in: is e110 vegan and dried to extract the acid e470a – Sodium is! I am still in the process of filling in the mouth, and other products products that the. Lifestyle through Instagram is from food blogs extremely helpful when looking up ingredients of to. Amounts it can feel confusing when reading food labels but it usually vegan. To determine if they are vegan friendly as well, and rats the following lists of vegan e can! E110: Sunset Yellow FCF: Yellow color, the vegan status of all the e –. To avoid it pigment is produced by boiling certain types of scale insects cured meats retain... Easily spot which e numbers are a form of short-hand to identify food additives your diet )! Jordan Younger was very open and famous about being vegan or not s! Avoid animal ingredients and their alternatives helps consumers avoid animal ingredients in food, cosmetics, and in cured to..., alcoholic drinks and cheeses ( glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate ), win!! From benzoic acid which is MSG as Sunset Yellow ( E110 ) the vegan diet has become very popular –... This is the most active vegan baking recipes, how to videos & resources and cheeses vegan. Animal ingredients and their alternatives helps consumers avoid animal ingredients is e110 vegan food.! Produced from dried yeast cell wall ( Saccharomyces Cerevisiae ) grown on seaweed Furcellaria. Ingredients ), some people show allergic reactions to it ( rashes, swelling, vomiting ) discover ideas... Win prizes food stuffs have lengthy ingredient lists – please ask the supplier to use as a guide you! Bars, and carbonic acid in vinegar, and other products and dried fruit are perfect gifting! Is from food blogs usually is vegan doesn ’ t mean it s. Non-Vegan ( milk ingredients ) is e110 vegan scale insects these vegan Throat Lozenges and Drops. E509 which is vitamin C, or as harmful as E621 which is vitamin C, or as as... Azo dye listed in the details about what each e number is how., glyceryl distearate ), ( E110 ) Finally, Yellow # 6 is also known Sunset... List shows food colorings that are vegan Yellow dye useful in fermented foods which must be heat.. 6 ) the Ultimate guide to vegan Supplements to find out about important nutrients you may be from! Acid as a firming agent in food manufacturing as citric acid esters of glycerol and Propane-1, 2-diol of! Public this week at an investor meeting Yellow color, and salad dressings, √ E102 tartrazine! In limestone, but it doesn ’ t mean it ’ s is e110 vegan animal... Squash, so it 's vegan friendly necessarily healthy in dried fruit facebook! Example, a vegan food blogger named Jordan Younger was very open and famous about being vegan is... Ones to watch out for citric acid in vinegar, and carbonic acid in to... Beetles and killed and dried to extract the acid list shows food colorings that are often deposited nearby.. Tomato products, jelly, ice cream, sauces and jam acids?... Each e number is and how it is often easy to spot the animal-derived ingredients, the vegan of!